200 zł ASP Jan Matejko Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków - 200th Anniversary

15,50 g Au 900

200 pln 200th Anniversary of the Jan Matejko Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków
200 zl
Au 900
15,5 g
Ø 27 mm
1500 pcs
Date of issue
Certificate, Box
Price: 3,599.00 PLN
Przelew i gotówka DotPay +1,5%Paypal +3,5%





The Academy of Fine Arts (ASP) was originally a subdivision of the Jagiellonian University's Department of Literature and was initially (1818–1873) called School of Drawing and Painting (Szkoła Rysunku i Malarstwa). Among its original teachers were Polish Neoclassicist Antoni Brodowski, and Franciszek Ksawery Lampi, a world-renowned landscape and portrait artist in Congress Poland whose most notable students there were Wojciech Korneli Stattler (teacher of Jan Matejko) and Piotr Michałowski, equestrian master artist of the Romantic period.

ASP received the status of an independent institution of higher learning in 1873 as the School of Fine Arts (Szkoła Sztuk Pięknych). The first President of the Academy was painter Jan Matejko, who brought in other leading artists as professors including Jan Nepomucen Głowacki, the most outstanding landscape painter of the early 19th century in Poland, as well as Florian Cynk, Aleksander Gryglewski and Leopold Loeffler, member of the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts. The main building based on a neoclassical design by architect Maciej Moraczewski was erected in today's Matejko Square in 1879. In 1893–95 its principal was a broadly educated Władysław Łuszczkiewicz (another teacher of Jan Matejko and later, his close associate) who also served as conservator of architectural monuments in the city.

Following the death of Jan Matejko in 1893, the next ASP President elected in 1895 was Julian Fałat, who remained at his post until 1909. Fałat gave the Academy a new direction by hiring new art instructors associated with contemporary Western art philosophies; painters such as Teodor Axentowicz, Jacek Malczewski (the father of Polish Symbolism), Jan Stanisławski, Leon Wyczółkowski, Konstanty Laszczka, Józef Mehoffer, Stanisław Wyspiański (one of first in Europe to work in all genres), Wojciech Weiss, and Józef Pankiewicz among others.

On the 100th anniversary of its founding, in 1979, the Academy was named for Jan Matejko, its founder and first president, who contributed greatly to its artistic legacy.

In 2008 the Academy joined Icograda (the International Council of Graphic Design Associations) and became that organization's first educational member in Poland.

The reverse of the gold coin depicts Jan Matejko and the logo of the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow; in the background there is a griffin from the dome of the Academy building. The obverse shows a fragment of a portal decorating the entrance to the Academy building.

The reverse of the silver coin depicts Jan Matejko. On the obverse there are intermingling images of: the building of the Academy of Fine Arts in Krakow and an outline of a painting palette.

in the same series/category